The APPG will be undertaking a number of evidence sessions as part of its inquiry.

It first of all heard from Experts by Experience on the 15th July from 2:30 – 3:30pm. Speakers included:

  • Elizabeth Carr-Ellis – Creator and co-founder of the Pausitivity #KnowYourMenopause campaign
  • Kate Evans – Writer and expert by experience
  • Diane Danzebrink – Founder of and #MakeMenopauseMatter campaign
  • Nina Kuypers, Founder of Black Women in Menopause

The second session of the inquiry took place on Wednesday 8th September from 10:00 – 11:00 on the work of menopause charities and support groups. Speakers included:

  • Justine Roberts CBE – Founder and Chief Executive, Mumsnet
  • Katie Taylor – Founder and CEO, The Latte Lounge
  • Gaynor Tucker – Founder, Perimenopause Support
  • Rachel Weiss – Founder and Chairperson, Menopause Café
  • Liz Prinz – Insight Manager, Women in Sport

The third session of the inquiry took place on Wednesday 20th October from 10:00 – 11:30 on changes in the workplace to support Menopause. Speakers included:

  • Emma Taylor, People Director, ROI, Tesco
  • Rachel Suff, Senior Policy Adviser (Employment Relations), CIPD
  • Andrew Bazeley, Policy and Public Affairs Manager, Fawcett Society
  • Janet Trowse, Head of HR Systems Operator, Network Rail
  • Sarah Churchman OBE, Chief Inclusion, Community & Wellbeing Officer, PwC
  • Laura Garside, Colleague Support Advisor, Timpson Ltd
  • Dr Angela Rowntree, Occupational Health Practitioner, the John Lewis Partnership
  • Lisa Macis, Menopause Project Manager, Bristol Myers Squibb

The fourth session of the inquiry took place on Tuesday 7th December from 14:00 – 16:00 on HRT and testosterone. Speakers included:

  • Dr Louise Newson, Leading menopause specialist and founder of free Balance app for menopausal women
  • Dr Shirin Lakhani, Aesthetics doctor specialising in “alternative” HRT
  • Jacqui McBurnie, NHS England/Improvement Menopause Group Chair
  • Michael Buckley, CEO/ Medical Director, Lawley Pharmaceuticals, Perth Australia
  • Alastair Darby, CEO, Newson Health
  • Professor Matthew Cripps, Director, Behaviour Change Team, NHS England and NHS Improvement – leads the new National Menopause Improvement Programme in NHSE

The fifth session of the inquiry took place on Wednesday 12th January from 10:00 – 11:30 on medical training and screening for Menopause. Speakers included:

  • Paula Briggs, British Menopause Society
  • Vikram Talaulikar, The Menopause Clinic
  • Laura Flatman and Suzanne Banks CBE, NHS England, and Chris Dzikiti, NHS England Menopause Programme Lead
  • Dr Wendy Molefi, The Mindful GP
  • Dr Shahzadi Harper, The Harper Clinic
  • Eddie Morris MD PRCOG, President of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists

The sixth session of the inquiry took place on Wednesday 9th February from 13:30 – 14:30 on education, awareness and understanding around Menopause. Speakers included:

  • Maria Lyle, Director, RAF Families Federation
  • Lisa Nicholls, Menopause Campaign Lead for Fair Treatment for Women in Wales (FTWW)
  • Lucy Russell, Gender Specialist at National Education Union (NEU)
  • Mary Bailey, Strategic Support Lead at National Police Chief Council (NPCC)
  • Lisa Winward, Chief Constable for North Yorkshire Police

The seventh session of the APPG, on alternative treatments for Menopause, took place in Parliament on Tuesday 24th May from 14:00 – 15:30. Speakers included:

Future Treatment Pathways Speakers

  • Dr Katie Barber BM BCh, MRCGP, DRCOG, DFSRH
  • Dr Sarah Ball, MBChB MRCGP DCH DRCOG DFFP, GP and Menopause Specialist
  • Ludmila Scrine, Medical Lead at Astellas
  • Tina Backhouse, General Manager UK, Theramex

Wider alternative treatment speakers

  • Melinda McDougall, Vice President, National Institute of Medical Herbalists
  • Dr Kaur Birinder, Vice President of the Federation of Holistic Therapists
  • Meera Bhogul, Made from Scratch



© 2021 Menopause APPG | All Rights Reserved | Designed by Simple Online Solutions

This is not an official website of the House of Commons or the House of Lords. It has not been approved by either House or its committees. All-Party Parliamentary Groups are informal groups of Members of both Houses with a common interest in particular issues. The views expressed in these webpages are those of the group